Tiny crochet bat

IMG_0824-1.JPG
My friend asked me to make her this tiny bat in exchange for a cake for hubby’s birthday. (I’ll post pics of that after his bday.)
Tiny bat pattern

So I decided to make a practice one first. My first attempt was too bulky so I used this grey yarn that is thinner and similar to wool but it is synthetic.

IMG_0806-1.JPG
This head is better.

IMG_0813.JPG
I’ve never used stitch markers before but this pattern goes in circles without ending a row and I lost count of the stitches in the first head I made.

IMG_0816.JPG

IMG_0814.JPG
Even with the stitch marker when I got to the row with the feet I had too many stitches so I improvised and just put the feet where they looked right. The first pic is the one with two feet. It’s too hard to change the order on my iPhone.

IMG_0817.JPG
Time for the wings. My first one looked more square than the picture.

IMG_0818.JPG
The second one (on left) looks more round.

IMG_0819.JPG
I used French knots to make the eyes. Micheals didn’t have any that I could find. I ordered some from amazon but these look good now that I’m done.
Then I stuffed him and sewed him up and sewed on the wings. She didn’t have instructions for that so I winged it! Ha!

IMG_0821.JPG

IMG_0824.JPG
Ta da!

Leave a Reply

