Suburban Woman Chocolate Chip, Reese Chip Brownies 

So yesterday my friend told me about this recipe http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/knock-you-naked-brownies/ from the pioneer woman that used cake mix to make gooey caramel brownies. I happened to have chocolate cake mix in my pantry. I was feeling kinda down and so I looked up the recipe. It sounded good. Except I don’t have the same kind of cake mix, caramels, or evaporated milk. Or nuts. But I do have Reese peanut butter chips. 

This is what I did. 

I used my cake mix. Devil’s Food mmm.

Then I mixed it with a 1/2cup unsalted butter, melted, and 1/3 cup regular old 1% milk. It makes a stiff dough instead of batter. I patted half of it into a greased 9×9 glass pan and baked it for 8 minutes. The recipe called for 350 but my oven runs cold so I set it to 375. Then, since I didn’t have caramels to melt I checked Facebook and put some laundry in. 

Time for these goodies. 

After 8 minutes I pulled the pan out of the oven, and added half a bag of peanut butter chips and some chocolate chips, enough to cover the brownie in an even layer. I didn’t measure. 

Then I patted down the rest of the brownie dough to put on the top. I apparently didn’t divide it evenly and I didn’t have enough to cover the whole top. Oh well. I baked it for 20 minutes. 

The house smelled so good.

The recipe calls for letting it cool in the refrigerator but what I’m making doesn’t  have caramel, so this one you want to eat warm. But I did have to let it cool some and I had to wait. Like Cookie Monster:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=CCbWyYr82BM

Oh though the wait was worth it! Melty chocolate peanut butter goodness in a warm brownie with a glass of milk was sooooo yummy. Hubby loved it to. We were both down today so it was a nice moment to share with him. 

Recipe:

Preheat oven to 350

Grease 9×9 pan well

1 chocolate cake mix

1/2 cup melted butter

1/3 cup milk

1/2 bag Reese chips

Chocolate chips, enough to cover area.

Mix cake mix, butter, and milk into a dough, divide. Pat half into greased pan, bake 8-10 minutes. Remove from oven, spread each kind of chips evenly. Pat remaining dough over chips. Return to oven and bake 20 minutes. Let cool a few minutes. It’s good warm…

Leave a Reply

